Kindness – Simple and Powerful

Woke up with a migraine. 

We were late to swimming lessons because of an accident on the freeway. We sat in the car as I tried not to throw up because of the migraine. 

My son had a fill in instructor because his regular instructor was sick – new people can take some time for him to trust. 
I did something to my left hip so now I can barely walk because of the pain. 

We stopped at Starbucks between swim and rec therapy when I saw that his kindle was not working, battery 100% but not connecting… Have to add calling Amazon to my list of things to do today. 

We get to rec therapy only to be reminded that the appt had been cancelled earlier last week. I knew this but forgot. So now I have to get my 4ft 53lbs son out of the lobby while explaining to him that there would be no therapy today. Instant changes in schedule are challenging for him. I pick him up off the floor numerous times as I try to ease him out the door. The whole time he is crying and pointing to the gym.

I get him out the door and stop to sit in the shade for a minute to help him calm down. Shade is 97 degrees and humid. Sweat is rolling down my face as my son calms down. And I feel like I am going to throw up again. 

Then, to top it all off, a stranger comes up to me and says, “Excuse me. I don’t want to bother you…” I look at her having no idea what she would say to me at this minute other than to criticize me….

“I just want you to know you are doing an amazing job. I’ve seen you here with him for the past few weeks and I just wanted to tell you you’re an amazing mom.”

Tears as I say thank you. 

“He’s a beautiful boy… That’s all I wanted to say.” She smiles and walks away. 

My son climbs on to my lap and snuggles for a couple minutes and then walks willingly with me to the car. 

I don’t know if the wet on my cheeks are sweat or tears as I sit in the car wipe them from my face. 

One simple act of kindness by a stranger is a powerful thing.

Leave a Reply

